Hungarian 101

Learn Hungarian with

Official Status

Hungarian is the official language of Hungary, and thus an official language of the European Union.

Besides, Hungarian is one of official languages of Vojvodina and an official language of three municipalities in Slovenia (Hodos, Dobranak and Lendva), along with Slovene.

Hungarian is officially recognized as a minority or regional language in Austria, Croatia and Slovakia.


The dialects of Hungarian identified by Ethnologue are: Alföld, West Danube, Danube-Tisza, King's Pass Hungarian, Northeast Hungarian, Northwest Hungarian, Székely and West Hungarian; they are all mutually intelligible. The Hungarian Csángó dialect, not listed by Ethnologue is spoken mostly in Bacău conty, Romania. This minority group in Moldavia has been somewhat isolated from other Hungarians, thus, they preserved dialect resembling to medieval Hungarian.

Featured Video