Hungarian 101

The Hungarian language is a Finno-Ugric language spoken in Hungary and in the adjacent states of Romania, Slovakia, Ukraine, Serbia, Croatia, Austria, and Slovenia (to all of which Hungary lost territory after World War I). The Hungarian name for the language is magyar.

There are about 14.5 million speakers, of whom 10 million live in Hungary. The largest minority concentration is in the now Romanian counties of Transylvania, including Harghita (Hargita), Mureş (Maros), and Covasna (Kovászna), with approximately one and a half million Magyars.

Featured Video